Project 1: Restyling Shoes

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I always feel so guilty and wasteful whenever I buy something (rather, my mom buys me something) and I don’t wear it/use it as much as I should have. Well, here’s the best project for shoes specifically that don’t get worn too much. I used to wear these chuck taylors back in middle school and then I didn’t wear them as much because I got over hot pink finally. I got this idea from Elsie Larson’s blog, abeautifulmess.typepad.com and I changed it to fit my own style. I had old converse laying around that I never wear any more and this can, of course, work for any shoe you have in your closet going un-worn.

I know we’re putting fabric on fabric, but we’re not actually sewing. Holla! Now it doesn’t matter if you’re shoes are made out of plastic, cover that crap up!

 Supplies: 1 pair of old shoes, scissors, an xacto knife, tacky glue, mod podge, fabric (in my case was an irritatingly wrinkly pair of sleep shorts). The parts I wanted to cover were the entire outside of the shoe that had fabric, not including the tongue.

First I had to clean my shoes because they were disgustingly dirty and muddy. The perfect cleaner is definitely Awesome. It works wonders on surfaces. Seriously, look at the before and after. It’s awesome, har har.


Step (1): Make a template. I laid a piece of paper over one half of my shoe (I didn’t have enough fabric to do it in one long strip). Elsie just glued a chunk of fabric to her shoe and then cut around it, but I didn’t have to luxury of guessing with my fabric. I’m working with booty shorts here and we all know the limited amount of fabric on them. I cut a good centimeter larger than my side of the shoe on my paper to give a little cushion to my measurements, or lack of.

Step (2): Cut. Use the template to cut out the shape from the fabric using the paper template.

Step (3): Paste. Just take your fabric, line it up either from top or bottom ( I chose the bottom because it was a straight edge), and here’s the best part, GLUE IT! Use a powerful strong glue, or tacky glue in my case, and glue the fabric on. It might seep through a bit depending on how thin the fabric is, but that doesn’t matter because it dries clear.

Step (4): Trim down the fabric using scissors to a reasonable folding length. Because I had to finish it off in a weird place without a defined edge, I just folded the fabric and glued it. For around the ankle part, I just folded it over the edge and glued it. It looks nicely finished and you can do this however you like. Of course you’ll have different options depending on your shoe.

Step (5): Seal. To Really seal the fabric on there, I used mod podge or actually, I would have liked to have used mod podge, but I couldn’t find it in my house. Instead, I used gel medium. It seemed to work just as fine, maybe it’s not as strong, but it holds… and it dries shimmery!
Then just lace it up and go!  ^.^ sav

Leave a Reply

